top of page

My Favorite Artist


If you know me you know that my favorite artist is Mary J Blige. I love Mary for her unapologetically ability to keep it real. That’s definitely displayed in her music. I love the fact that you can not only hear her pain but relate to it. I’ve been listening to Mary my whole life along with a bunch of other old music. But I fell in love with her and her music when I started being able to relate to it.

I want to say around 7th grade I thought I was going through a breakup or whatever and Love no limit came on and I felt every word she was saying. I look back now and I cant even remember the situation but I compare it to today and I’m still able to relate. After that I moment, I was hooked. I wanted to hear everything Mary had created. I went to my pops house and pulled every mary cd out and downloaded it to itunes. And put EVERY album on my ipod.

I started watching interviews, live performances, it was all things mary after that. But I became a super fan when I really got my heart broken for the first time. Long story short shorty wasn’t loyal no chris brown. But that was the first time in my life that I ever felt that hurt. Like my mind was racing, my emotions were racing, everything just felt crazy. When they say I can’t eat, I cant sleep, I can’t think they mean that shit. But I played My Life and everything I was feeling at that time I heard it on that album. It made me feel better to know that people really do go through shit like that. For the first time I could call a body of work my favorite. I was amazed at how hurt she was and made it sound beautiful and make you want to dance to it too. Lol.

Fact: Mary is the only artist to win a grammy in pop, hiphop, r&b, and gospel category. Thats why she the GOAT.

I just wish I was older so I could've seen her live. Her energy was wild.

(Please Subscribe, and share)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page